MS Releases 64-Bit XP for download

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Chris, Feb 4, 2004.

  1. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Jeff Blair

    Jeff Blair Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2000
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    all I can say is WOOHOO...Why do I have to be at work now?? I can't wait to try it out on my new Opteron system.
     
  3. RossTerry

    RossTerry Guest

    i bet there are a ton of driver problems
     
  4. Travis Hedger

    Travis Hedger Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1998
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    I showed this to my friend at work who just built a 64bit PC, and he was indifferent.

    I was mystified. Why would you buy a 64bit proc and not install a 64bit OS, even for testing purposes on a seperate partition. And even for free for a year.

    Im still flabberghasted by his reluctance to try it out.
     
  5. Aaron_*P

    Aaron_*P Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been waiting to build my Athlon FX based computer until this was out. Can't wait to order my parts...there goes my savings!
     
  6. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bet most of the drivers are still 32 bit. It's possible to install old 32bit drivers right?

    Mmmmm 64 bit Blue Screens of Deaths...
     
  7. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, you can, but most drivers for AthlonFX are 64 bit.

    HD drivers, OS drivers are all 64 bit.
    Chipset drivers (via, nvidia, SIS) are all 64 bit
    Nvidia & ATI both have 64 bit display drivers

    So, for the most part, you can go pretty well [​IMG]
     
  8. Wayne Bundrick

    Wayne Bundrick Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    64-bit XP for the Itanium processor has been available for a while now, so I don't expect there should be major problems with the AMD version.

    Once upon a time Windows NT was available on at least four different CPU platforms.
     
  9. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, one for DEC Alpha.. I still have a DEC Alpha running NT4.0 at a client worksite [​IMG]
     
  10. Wayne Bundrick

    Wayne Bundrick Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder if the AMD version will support old 16-bit programs. The Itanium version doesn't.
     

Share This Page