Mr. Rogers has died

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by ScottR, Feb 26, 2003.

1. ScottR

ScottR Cinematographer

CBS News has reported that Fred Rogers has died from stomach cancer at the age of 74....I think I speak for millions of people out there when I say "it was a pleasure to be your neighbor." God Bless You, kind Sir.

2. Scott L

Scott L Producer

[​IMG] I watched this show growing up and I'm sad to see him go. He had a genuine love for kids and it's hard to find that kind of dedication in people today.

3. Travis Olson

Travis Olson Supporting Actor

Travis Olson
    I also watched him while growing up. He truly had a way to entertain as well as educate children. He will be missed. [​IMG]

4. Dan D.

Dan D. Stunt Coordinator

In 1992, I graduated from Boston University. Our graduation speaker was a Peruvian author and politician who was little known to most of us. What excited us was that Mr. Rogers, who was a Presbyterian minister, would be there to do the convocation.

When Mr. Rogers was introduced at the beginning of the ceremony, he received a lengthy and enthusiastic standing ovation. As things quieted down, his first words to us were, "Would you like to sing a song with me?" The crowd erupted. Imagine if you with 5,000 twentysomethings, clad in bright red, on the field of a stadium, singing "It's a beautiful day in the neighborhood." Friends of mine actually saw it on the nightly news in New York City.

Our souvenir graduation t-shirts had a caricature of Mr. Rogers wearing a mortarboard with the quote "It's a B.U.-tiful day in the neighborhood."

There was always something incredibly meaningful about having this figure, who was so prominent in my early childhood, be there for this final step into full adulthood. I'll miss him very much.

5. MikeH1

MikeH1 Screenwriter

I always watched Mr. Rogers because I loved the trolley.

I'll miss you Mr. Rogers [​IMG]

6. Todd K

Todd K Second Unit

From the Washington Post Article:

7. Blu