What's new

MP3 Players & File Compatability (1 Viewer)

Dan Mertz

Stunt Coordinator
I am interested in buying my first MP3 player but I'm not sure how to know what different file types will play on what type of MP3 player. I imagine all players will play music that I download directly off of my store-bought CDs...is this correct? I have also noticed that Walmart's music-dowload website says that "the Apple iPod will not play Wal-Mart Music Downloads files. Our files are in the WMA format with Digital Rights Management (DRM) encryption. Many other media players will play our files." Is this also a problem with files from other music download sites?

Will iPods not play any WMA files? What files can an iPod play and not play? Is there anything I need to know about other MP3 players when it comes to file compatability?

Please help me know what to look out for on this issue, and remember I'm a newbie to MP3 players and am not completely familiar with all the different file types.

Brian L

Senior HTF Member
iPods will not play WMA.

Non-Shuffle iPods will play AAC (protected tracks from iTunes as well as AAC's that are unprotected), MP3, Apple Lossless, WAV, and AIFF.

I seem to recall that Shuffle won't do Apple Lossless, maybe a few others.

BGL

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
There are two competing formats for "protected" music files (i.e. with digital rights management) -- WMA (Microsoft) and AAC (Apple). Most new MP3 players will handle one or the other, but not both. These protected file formats are only an issue for music purchased online -- anything you rip yourself from your own CD's will not have any digital rights management included.

Dan Mertz

Stunt Coordinator
What about radio shows that I record as they are broadcast as streaming-audio, or shows that are "podcasts"? They end up with a file extension of .mp3 but how do I know if they'll play on a certain MP3 player?

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name