"MP3 Decoding" in Harmon Kardon - question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by shujaatkhan, Jul 5, 2001.

1. shujaatkhan

shujaatkhan Auditioning

Hi All,
    I had a question about MP3 decoding which the new HK receivers tout. How is it different from any other regular SP/DIF input on the other receivers??
    The reason why I ask is that I've been listening to MP3's on my HT for a few years now, and it goes from my PC's spdif out to the receiver's (Sony ES 555 and JVC 884vbk before that)) spdif in, and it worked just fine.
    So is this HK "MP3 decoding" just a marketing gimmick or is it really something different.
    TIA
    PS. Also, S&V claimed (in their last issue) that this was the only receiver that they reviewed with "MP3 decoding".

2. Will Ernst

Will Ernst Agent

It's marketing hype. How are you supposed to transport MP3 over a coax connection? MP3s are binary data not mystical electrical impulses that can just be sent out. It has as much MP3 decoding as my parent's 1970 Marantz receiver.
    -will

3. MichaelPe

MichaelPe Screenwriter

I had been wondering about this too. Here's what I found on Harman/Kardon's website:
    quote: MP3 Audio Playback
    The AVR 310 is one of the first A/V receivers to provide on-board decoding for the MP3 audio format used by computers and portable audio devices. In addition, some new CD players are capable of playing back optical discs that are recorded with MP3, rather than standard CD audio information. By offering MP3 decoding, the AVR 310 is able to deliver more precise conversion of the digital signals to an analog output, along with the benefits of listening to the MP3 audio through the AVR 310’s high current amplifier and the speakers from your surround system, rather than the smaller speakers and low powered amplifiers typically used with computers.