Moving an input on a tv?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by EricDeB, Dec 9, 2005.

  1. EricDeB

    EricDeB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey I have a sharp flatscreen 27 inch tv, and I would like to use the composite input in the front permanently. I don't like the cable sticking out of the front, and I was wondering if it would be possible to take off the flat panel frame and run the cable just inside the frame so that it sticks out the side. Is this possible? Is it easy to take off the front panel frame? I only want to use the composite input, not the audio connectors.

    Thanks a ton
    Eric
     
  2. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do-able... Maybe solicit the help of an electronics tech knowledgable friend????

    I would not suggest this for anybody but qualified service personel as they say.
     
  3. EricDeB

    EricDeB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    So there is a danger or doing it then?
     
  4. Lew Crippen

    Lew Crippen Executive Producer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    0
    No disrespect Eric, But the very fact that you have asked the question tells me there is considerable danger should you do the work.

    Technically there is likely no particular problem, but without really knowing what you are doing, taking this apart and changing where the outlet goes may really cause a problem.

    Besides which doing this (for sure on your own) will void the warrenty.
     
  5. Kevin_Spradley

    Kevin_Spradley Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2000
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me be the one to ask the question, "Why do you want to just use the composite video permanently? Are you wanting to plugging in the composite video in the front having that cable stick out the side or modify the connection inside so that the female input sticks out the side? Depending on which route you are trying to take, the warranty may or may not be voided. If you remove any cover from the TV, the warranty will definitely be voided. Another thought, I have seen people run permanent cables under the TV and then up to the front connections. This looks pretty good, but you still have a little bit of cable sticking out then going directly under the TV. Is your TV out of inputs on the rear? If you provide the model number and the rest of your equipment, the highly knowledgable people here may be able to configure your system such that you don't need the front input. Sorry the long post, but it is late and I just got home from a Xmas party with a lot of debauchery.
     
  6. Al_E

    Al_E Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eric
    It's been my experience in the TV's I have taken apart that to get to the front panel requires starting at the back of the cabinet and removing screws and covers until you make it to the front. I don't know exactly how the sharp is put together but I doubt it is as easy as just taking the front off.

    I too am wondering what you are trying to accomplish, don't want the composite cable routed to the front of the tv or don't want the composit jack in the front.

    If the jack is being moved, I would assume, that there would have to be holes cut in the side of the cabinet. Very likely to void any warranties as previousely stated.

    Be careful when working inside the cabinet, there are components inside that can hold a charge of several thousand volts.

    Al E
     
  7. EricDeB

    EricDeB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry guys, truth is I'm just lazy and I don't want to have to connect a composite cable whenever I play super nintendo or N64. I have a sharp model 27F543, but I think what you guys would need ot know is that it has component and S video inputs on the back and a composite input on the front. I think I'll just maybe put a little nail in the back of my entertainment center and hook my composite cable over that so I just have to make the easy plug in the front, because I really don't play super NES or N64 very often. Actually I just was curious as to whether it was a simple thing to do or not, and I guess it isn't.

    Thanks a lot
    Eric
     
  8. Dave Poehlman

    Dave Poehlman Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2000
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's probably not complicated.. but like Al_E said, there's some dangerous parts inside a CRT TV... even if it's unplugged.

    It's funny, I have the reverse problem with mine. I wish my 27" RCA had inputs on the front. [​IMG]

    I think we should trade TV's.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page