What's new

Movies vs. Music in a HT receiver....help (1 Viewer)

Chad_B

Grip
I don't get it. I was all set to buy a H/K AVR230. The other day I read where someone said that the AVR230 is better for music than movies. A better movie HT rec. would be a Yamaha. I am new to the whole HT experience and I want to try and get most of it right the first time. Is there really that much difference between the two? I wish I could remember the Yamaha that was compared, but it was similar in price to the AVR230. Any thoughts or suggestions?
AVR230 is bout max i want to spend on my first HT receiver.

Thanks

One last thing (sorry) is there any major flaw/problem that I should know about with the AVR230? Still think I am going to pull the trigger on it.

SethH

Senior HTF Member
The 230 has only been out for about a month or so. So if there are any major flaws I doubt they have surfaced yet. I think the HK will be perfectly fine for you. You will find many on this forum who use HK for home theater. Go listen to it. If you like it, buy it and don't turn back. If the store has a Yamaha in the same price range then try to listen to them side-by-side, but I really doubt you'll be disappointed with the HK.

Jeff&R

Auditioning
Iam in the same boat as Chad_B ,

being a n00b to the HT thingy , but not to higher-end separates .

Iam looking to for 85% movies 15% music in a small 12x12 bedroom and a small budget of around $600-$800 if possible .

I too have read ALOT at this forum and others saying HK for music , Yamaha for movies .
I already picked up a Yammy HTR-5660 on the recommendation of a family member ( a hard Yammy fan) . Iam now leaning more towards the AVR-230 due to the better powering amp and a few other features it presents over the HTR-5660 ...
1)OSD ,
2)auto SPL speaker setup ,
3)speaker frequencies adjustments of 40/60/80/100/120/200 HZ )
(all three a BIG plus in my book)