Movie Sub Output And Volume

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by AbelM, Jan 15, 2002.

  1. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    For movies do you guys' usually turn up the volume on the sub or the putput level, just for a little more punch? I just stared doing this, and it is better IMO. I mean I have it around 11db output level for music, games, etc..., and for movies I go up to about 7-6db!

    What about you guys'!?
     
  2. Paul_Fisher

    Paul_Fisher Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    1
    I usually turn mine up to watch movies just so I can feel the couch rumble more. It definately is more boomy, but I think it sounds good for HT bass. I use the Sony SAWM40 by the way.
     
  3. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone else?
     
  4. Robert Barker

    Robert Barker Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run mine about 4db Hot. I listen to Movies about 10db under reference.

    Robert Barker

    Austin TX
     
  5. Alan Pummill

    Alan Pummill Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 1999
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello AbelM,

    I have a Velodyne CT-120 and I also turn up the sub during movies.

    I turn it back down during CD listening. My fronts are Paradigm Monitor 7's. When I set my receiver to Direct mode during CD playback, it's just too much mid-bass. I prfer listening to CD's in stereo, not surround.
     
  6. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    So do you guys' up the volume on the bass it self, or the output level?!
     
  7. Jerry AZ

    Jerry AZ Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  8. ColinM

    ColinM Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    I turn it up with the receiver's level, not the sub's amp knob.
     
  9. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you guys' mean with your output level right? Becasue I don't think I can turn the volume up on the reciever for my sub on mine...the Yammy 520. Or am I not getting it?!
     
  10. jeff lam

    jeff lam Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Real Name:
    Jeff Lam
    Your receiver should have a sub level control. I have the 620 and to get to the menu I have to set the remote to DSP or AMP and push the
     
  11. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't that what I said? I thought you guys meant output level right? The one that goes up to 0 and down to -20.0??
     
  12. Barry BB

    Barry BB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    >>>Isn't that what I said?

    Um... maybe you should read again what you said?

    >>>"Becasue I don't think I can turn the volume up on the reciever for my sub on mine"

    The above responses were refering to setting the sub level with the receiver's controls.
     
  13. Alan Pummill

    Alan Pummill Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 1999
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    1
    AbelM has a hard time expressing himself sometimes! Forgive him for he is a Newbie!

    Abel, I turn the volume up on the sub itself for movies.
     
  14. Barry BB

    Barry BB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was not trying to be mean spirited. Sorry if it came across badly.
     
  15. ColinM

    ColinM Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    A -

    You are probably trying to tweak the 'LFE', that usually cant go above '0'.

    Look for the sub control, not lfe.

    Leave the LFE at zero.
     
  16. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I know I do leave my LFE at 0, but I have a setting called sub out put level, and I just turn that up or down...up makes it less boomy and down makes rael boomy...

    And Barry BB:

     
  17. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    It sure does make a difference. I tried that for Vertical Limit and Terminator 2 UE.
     
  18. ColinM

    ColinM Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    "I don't think I can turn the volume up on the reciever for my sub on mine..."

    Why not? LFE won't go higher than zero. Sub level will.

    You asked -

    "for movies I go up to about 7-6db!

    What about you guys'!? "

    We answered, and now you want to know the best way to do it?

    Adjust the rec's sub level, I say. *BECAUSE* once you calibrate the system, you DON'T want to go twisting the volume knob on the back of the sub, because you'll likely never get it back to the same spot again, meaning you will have to calibrate all over again.

    If you do it by ear then screw it. Twist away.

    - CM
     
  19. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx Collin...Appreciate it!!
     

Share This Page