Motorola Hdtv 5100 Problem?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Rich Milak, Feb 28, 2003.

  1. Rich Milak

    Rich Milak Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had comcast out to install the 5100 and the 4 hdtv ch. looked great but when I looked at the analog ch they were all fuzzy. They could not figure it out so i have my dig box back. has anybody had this problem? It's a toshiba widescreen I told them I thought is was there box(They don't have a HDTV to test it on)Help![​IMG]
     
  2. Ken Custodio

    Ken Custodio Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did u try using different types of cables? Like Svideo vs component.

    One thing I have learned is that after watching programming in HDTV is that watching non-hdtv material looks like crap, even DVD's seem to have lost some of there sharpness.
     
  3. Doug_B

    Doug_B Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Expanding on Ken's suggestion, if you were viewing the Standard Def material with the same component cables as the Hi-Def material, the box may not have been providing the appropriate output signal, i.e., it may have been upconverting the material to the same resolution as the Hi-Def material (e.g., 1080i). If the box also outputs S-Video and composite simultaneously, these outputs could have been tested, as you can't get 1080i out of them.

    Doug
     
  4. Dominic Scolaro

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 1999
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got the 5100 and thought that I should set the 4:3 override to 480p so I did. Non-HD stations looked like crap. Then I set it to 480i and it's acceptable. It's at least as good as the old digital box was. Not sure why it has to be set to 480i though. Maybe a bug?
     

Share This Page