Motorola DCT5100

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Jay Foster, Oct 11, 2003.

  1. Jay Foster

    Jay Foster Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    I have Cable One as my cable service provider. I currently have the Motorola DCT2000 as my digital cable box. However, I understand the Motoral DCT5100 "upconverts" not only digital channels but analog channels also which makes the picture better. Is this right? Does anyone have any experience with this?
     
  2. Robert A. Willis Jr.

    Robert A. Willis Jr. Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 1999
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have no experience with this unit. But it has been reported that it isn't very good upconverting the analog channels. Check out www.avsforum.com
     
  3. Kevin Golding

    Kevin Golding Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IMHO, analog channels look terrible through the component output. I ran a s-video cable from the 5100 as well, and use that for all but the HD channels. Pic quality still isn't great, but much more acceptable.
     
  4. Rik P

    Rik P Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ditto on the 5100 upconvert im sure your TV can do better.

    Rick
     

Share This Page