What's new

Most bang for small bucks (1 Viewer)

Mark Thomas

Auditioning
Not sure whether this is the right area or not, but since I am new to HT I'll try it here.

I am building a home theater in my basement. The dimensions are 12X24. The couch will sit cross-ways the room approximately eight feet from the screen face of a Sony 46" rear projection TV, essentially splitting the room in half, the other half will be game table, computer desk, reading room...etc. I purchased the TV several months ago and it is stored. I need some type of HT sound, but have a limited budget due to some other stuff. Wife and I have agreed on around a thousand bucks, give or take fifty cents. I know I can't get studio quality out of a paltry G note, so what is the opinion of the experts to get the most bang for my buck?

My other inquiry centers around viewing height. I have built a short stage across the end of the room, creating a six inch rise. I know there is a general rule for viewing distance, but is there a rule of thumb as to the optimum height? Does Sony know what they're doing when they build stand for their TV's? I will build my own stand, so I could take their dimension and alter it for the stage height.

Any expert (and all others) advice is greatly appreciated.

John S

Senior HTF Member
Look at the Onkyo 770 system. This is HT in a box built around a real nice AVR. great out of the box, with room to grow and change anything in particular you don't like.

I have found nothing better for the price, and it is way under your budget, and even if you want to change part of it, you can do that and still make your budget.

Most people are very happy with the 770 as is though, look it up and read the reviews.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Hi Mark, welcome to the Forum!

Yes, $1k is a fairly tight budget for a room that big, especially starting from scratch. I assume you’re needing a DVD player, receiver and speakers.