Modern Chevy Impala forums recommendations

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Keith Mickunas, May 17, 2003.

1. Keith Mickunas

Keith Mickunas Cinematographer

I'm considering buying the new Impala SS that is being released in the fall. Can anyone recommend any good Chevy forums especially ones specific to the current Impala, and techical ones about the 3800 V6 and the supercharged version fo that engine?

Also does anyone here have experience either with this car or the supercharged V6? I had a '97 Camaro with the 3800 and liked it, but I've got no experience with a supercharged engine.

2. Jeff_Krueger

Jeff_Krueger Stunt Coordinator

No first hand experience with the 3.8SC my self but they appear to be easy to mod for close to 300hp check out the Grand Prix Store they have some parts for both the SC version on the NA version of the 3.8

3. Matt Stryker

Matt Stryker Screenwriter

My dad has the Buick Regal GS, which I believe has the 3800 supercharged plant. The Impala SS is probably tuned a bit hotter, but its a decent engine...the only problem is the amount of weight it has to push.

He had to replace the exhaust system last year, not sure if that will share any bits with the new SS; the new performace muffler he got does sound nice, even if it is just a V6 [​IMG] .

4. JeremyFr

JeremyFr Supporting Actor

a great website is GMPowertalk.com I used to go there all the time I've got a 98 Grand Am lots of great info and greatu users sorta like HTF.

5. Keith Mickunas

Thanks for the input guys.

Jeremy, that looks like what I'm looking for. I've found some other stuff dedicated to the Impala, but it doesn't have much traffic. This site appears to be rather broad and will hopefully provide me some info.

Jeff, it looks like they've added a dedicated Impala store. It'll probably take a bit of time before supercharged Impala stuff shows up, but it'll most likely be the same.