MLCS has done it again!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brian Bunge, Jan 11, 2002.

1. Brian Bunge

Brian Bunge Producer

That's right! The Merle band clamps are on sale again! You can pick up two of these for $44.95 (regularly $39.95 each)!
    Click here for more info!
    Brian

2. Brian J Dupuis

Brian J Dupuis Second Unit

[​IMG] Yeah, after Hank's recommendation, these went on order along with my spiral upcut bit and 1/4" roundover. Those are some nice clamps, that's for sure.

3. Wes Nance

Wes Nance Stunt Coordinator

Hi,

I'm going to make my first sub soon, and want to get a spiral upcut and 1/4" round over bits for router. What ones do you recommend from the MLCS site? I'm a total router newbie, but these look very good. I'm getting 2 Merle clamps and 2 can-do clamps as well, they look like a good team for building speakers. Any other bits or pieces of hardware you deem invaluable for speaker building?

Is there something that helps you drill holes straight into the sides of the MDF so you don't miss the edges or the connecting board?

Thanks, sorry so many questions. . .

Wes

4. Brian J Dupuis

Well, I'm rather new here, and just did my first routing yesterday, but I've received some good advice here that I'll pass on.
    1) I bought the standard 1/4" spiral upcut bit from MLCS. Worked very well! I bought the Katana 1/4" roundover bit from MLCS, and while I haven't used it yet, it appears to be a very well put-together bit.
    2) I got the General Tools precision drill guide on recommendation from here. No, I didn't buy it from that link, but that's the only one I could find right now. Works great! Good for drilling perpendicular holes in flat stock, as well as on edges.
    Good luck, I'm just now getting my holes cut. Should be done with the routing today, and will be using my Merle clamps today to hold everything together [​IMG].

5. Hank Frankenberg

Hank Frankenberg Cinematographer