What's new

Mixing Tubes and SS (1 Viewer)

Brian tj

Stunt Coordinator
Hi all
I am looking at Audio Experience Concerto tube phono preamp to go with B&K ref-50 and 200.7 amp! your $0.02
Thanks

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
If it has the ability to tailor the capacitance to the cartridge that would be a plus feature. Myself, I'm not familiar with the unit.

Yogi

Screenwriter
I have no experience with phono preamps but in the past I have had very good success mating tube pre's with SS amps. Just make sure the tube pre has low enough output impedance to drive the B&K which has 33K of input impedance. Point to note: B&K amps sound really good with tube preamps. They come very close and I mean within about 85-90% of an all tube setup. I can vouch for that as I have experienced it first hand in my setup.

Best of luck.

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
OK, I've seen the website and read the reviews. What follows are my opinions and are irrespective of my likes or dislikes regarding tubes.

1) This is a unit that hasn't been reviewed in any notable or even semi-notable publication. There's no mention of it whatsoever on the newsgroups. While the few that did comment on it spoke positively, I'd have wanted to see some technical measurements that would at least verify some of the specifications.

2) The list price is vastly overstated and likely it'll go for 1/3 or so. I'd estimate the cost to manufacture it at well under $100 US, maybe even under $50. Parts are dirt cheap overseas and I do mean dirt cheap.

3) I see no mention of warranty and how one obtains service or even what happens if you don't like it. I see that as a potential headache.

4) There are obviously not too many of these being made or sold in the US. To me it brings into question issues of future support and long term commitment by the maker. A few bad months and he's out there repairing TV's.