What's new

Mixing speakers (1 Viewer)

Galen

Auditioning
Hello all, I am very new to HT, and I am in the process of converting my basement into my Home Theater. I am done framing and it is time to run the speaker wire. I need to know what kind of speakers to get before I do this. My question is, can I use regular speakers for the front two and center speakers and in wall speakers for the three rear in my 6.1 system. Thanks in advance for your advice, this forum has already given me some great ideas to make this project special. BTW, I have no wall behind my couch and would put the rears in the ceiling if this is advisable. Thanks again.

Jerome Grate

Senior HTF Member
First, welcome to the forum all you answers I find to be here. Now to the issue at hand, first, will you be using a t.v. (direct view, rear projetion) or a screen with a front projector? If you are using a t.v., then your speakers must be magnetically shielded. This will protect the t.v. from that purplish distortion you see when you have speakers next to the t.v. I also advise that you check out the various speaker sights listed on this page and maybe even let us know what your decision is. Depending on the speakers, it will determine what size or gauge wire you should use. Please also note that the speaker wire has to meet certain fire criterias since it will be in the walls.

Galen

Auditioning
Ok, I am thinking of a 100" front projection screen. I have read good things about the Onkyo HT-S767, and I am considering using the sub, center and L/R fronts from that system with three Polk Audio in wall speakers installed in the ceiling for the rears. If this is not advisable, I guess I could live with the Onkyo speakers on stands behind the couch, I just don't think it would look as clean. Thanks for your advice.

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member