What's new

Mitsubishi .vs. Pioneeer 65 (1 Viewer)

JaimeC

Grip
I would like to thank home theater forum for allowing me to join this fine arena of enthusiasts, professionals, etc..
To start off, I'm a beginner in the home theater business, and to be honest one, of the main reasons why I joined is to gather every bit of valuable information I can from anyone who can help me build my own home theater within the next month or two and within my budget.
With that out of the way, I have narrowed down two possible HDTV that I like. That is, unless someone else has an opinion of a better HDTV for my budget of up to $5k.
In the red corner, I have the Mitsubishi Diamond series 65" model #WS65908. I believe this is a 2000 model and retails for $4,999.99. It is not Direct Tv ready and requires the DTV box converter. I think I can get abetter deal now since the 2001 models are coming.
In the blue corner, I have the Pioneer model #Pro-710HD 64" and is Direct TV ready. it retails for $5237.00
Can anybody help me with comparisons for best picture quaility, lowest maintenance costs, and overall performance. Thanks.
JaimeC

Marc Alexander

Stunt Coordinator
Both sets are DTV (Digital TV) ready. Both require external DTV receivers. DirecTV or Dish Network HDTV receivers can be added to either set. The sets are equal when it comes to DTV readiness (digitally or direcTVly).
The Pioneer has a better line-doubler for 480i upconversion. The Mitsubishi can be calibrated/tweaked to have a better picture than the Pioneer for 480p and 1080i.
If you are an average user (not a tweaker) or do not want to pay for a professional calibration, get the Pioneer. For more info on Mits tweaks or professional calibration visit THE SPOT

Jeff Adams

Screenwriter