What's new

Mitsubishi 46809, Good Choice? (1 Viewer)

Jeremy B.

Stunt Coordinator
I am looking to start my first HT system. Unfortunately I am new at this, and have been trying to do as much forum reading/research as I can. This will be an upgrade from a 27" tv. This is going into a 12' x 10' room, which is our main living room. I will be setting about 9' - 10' away from where the tv will be. The majority of our tv watching is regular cable, about 65%, about 25% is DVD watching, and about 10% gaming. We want to get into a tv that we are not going to have to worry about upgrading when we move in a year or two, and go to a bit larger room. We are also VERY budget minded! I can pick up a new Mitsubishi 46809 for $1,500 + tax, and stand for it. I have read in a few different forums that this tv does have red push? What exactly does that mean? Also, I've heard it has awesome features if you're really into tinkering....being new, I'm not so sure this would be the best "first" tv for us? I want something that is ready to go out of the box, as I do not want to do a lot of fiddling, although I do feel I am capable if necessary. Does anyone have any other suggestions for our first HDTV? Maybe go bigger or smaller? Diff. brand? Diff. model? Thanks in advance for all the input!

Jim FC

Stunt Coordinator
Jeremy,
Mitsus do not need a lot of "fiddling" right out of the box - they actually look darn good without much adjustment (I'd still recommend you immediately turn the contrast down to %50, and get a calibration DVD, see below). Mitsus are great and this is a nice TV. Don't let all the "red push" and calibration talk dissuade you from this TV. The size of room and viewing distances you mentioned are a good match for this TV. I would highly recommend it, especially at the price you noted (is it new at that price, or "open box?").