What's new

Mitsu X70UX Projector question (1 Viewer)

John D.

Auditioning
This is my first post and let me say that after discovering this forum about a week ago, I have to say that IT ROCKS!
I'm a newbie at the HT stuff and don't really have the $$ to make upgrades at this time. Getting married in 6 mo's. :) MUST PAY FOR WEDDING FIRST :frowning:
That being said, I have the opportunity to buy a Mitsu X70UX LCD Projector from a friend CHEAP!!!! (probably just a couple hundred $$). It's only has about a hundred hours of use and is in perfect condition as far as I can tell.
The big question---- Can this projector be used in a HT setup?? If so is it any good.
I do not have a light controlled room. in fact my living room (where I watch TV) gets a lot of light during the day. at night it's pretty dark (duh!).
I pretty much watch 70% cable tv and 30% DVD's.
If I don't take it off of my friends hands, he is going to e-bay is for much more $$ so no I don't want to buy from him and then sell on e-bay (he is my friend after all).
Thanks in advance for any input.
I will have a few (about 1,000) more questions later but that's all for now.
JD

Gabriel_Lam

Screenwriter
It's a very very good projector for the price you're getting. Here are the specs:

XGA native LCD (.9" panels)
1100 ANSI Lumens
250:1 ANSI contrast
37dB noise
1080i & 720p compatible inputs

Though the contrast is not great, it is an ANSI number, not just on/off, so it's not as bad as it looks. It's actually a pretty good projector for home theater. Mitsubishi's tend to have great colors, and you really can't argue with that price.

The problem is daytime watching. Sunlight is really going to wash out the picture. You may want to ask him to see if he'll let you borrow it to test.

John D.

Auditioning
Thanks for the info. I'm sure he will let me borrow it. So I will try that.