What's new

Minor problem with Toshiba SD-4700 (1 Viewer)

Tom S

Agent
I have been using my Toshiba SD-4700 now for about 4 months. I am generally pleased with it's performance with one exception. At least once, sometimes more, on just about every DVD, there is a very slight audio dropout. I thought it was the layer change but it happens at strange times, like 20 minutes into the movie. These drop outs are more annoying than anything else, and very subtle. Is this common for this machine or am I just spoiled?

Prentice Cotham

Supporting Actor
Tom,

I had the same problem as you w/ the 4700. I have a Denon receiver and used the optical input. It got to be really annoying to me when in the Usual Suspects, I had no less than 6 dropouts.

Tom S

Agent
Interesting. I have a Denon 3300, however I am using the coaxial input. I just purchased a Sony DVP-NC655P (5 disc player) that is hooked up to the optical input. I am using it mostly as a CD player, but I plan on watching a few movies on that player to see if this is a common problem.

anthony_b

Screenwriter
If you do a search on audio dropouts you'll find Toshiba all over the place. It was common with the first generation of players put out by them....I had a Phillips that was a TOSHIBA oem that had the same problem.

ChrisMatson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Chris
I have a Toshiba 4700 with an optical cable going to my Yamaha HTR52550 receiver and I haven't experienced any audio dropouts. Perhaps it is a loose connection or Denon compatibility issue. ?

Kevin_W

Second Unit