What's new

Midnight workers, worth it ? (1 Viewer)

Paul Bartlet

Stunt Coordinator
I'm gonna make a personal post here. But I do need advice.
I have been working midnights for near 8 years now. For the 1st 5-6 years, I worked three 12 hour shifts (overtime was not something to refuse if you wanted to stay there). Shift starting Sun, ending Wed morning. Adjusting to the sleeping seemed to come ok at the time, but over the years I seem to have lost my friends. Friends mostly call on the weekends to do/go somewhere, after a number of "no's", they call less. I find myself not much in the mood to do things I used to. I feel I have to hog my time to myself, don't know right word to describe it, but it's what I'm doing.
With slow downs at work, there have been lay offs over the last few years. So now my shift is 4 nights. To daytime workers this may not sound to bad, but it is. The shift falls over 5 days. I come home Friday morning 8am, I can try and stay awake all day for a kinda change over in hopes of a normal weekend, or sleep. I make it some Fridays to 8-9pm, but without sleep, I kinda just live here on computer or in front of TV. What happens most is, I sleep all day, and up all night alone. I'm married with 2 children, and yet I feel alone.
Anyhow, I have a good job, it has good benefits. I have a chance at a day job that pays ok (not as much), and no benefits. It's so hard to decide whats best. I"m very unhappy for "me", but my job is good for wife and kids (at persent anyhow).
I would like to hear from any midnight workers on this. I'm 35 and the years go by so quickly on this shift. Is/was it worth it ?.

Mike Lenthol

Second Unit
Not a midnight worker, but I remember the evening classes at graduate school, and what horror that was! Never again in my life.

(To all kids out there: don't think evening classes are the easy way out!)

It was a very depressing for a few years. Pretty much everybody I knew who kept an unusual schedule was very unhappy.