What's new

Media Play might be in big doo-doo (1 Viewer)

Mark Philp

Second Unit
Real Name
Mark
Both the New York Attorney General and his counterpart in Connecticut are investigating Media Play's tactics regarding their going out of business sale. It's claimed that they've received hundreds of complaints from consumers stating that MP raised their prices before the sale started so that the 20% off was based on the higher price and not their normal selling price. The example they gave was the new "War of the Worlds". Before the sale started it was around $18.00 and now it's selling for about $27 so even with a discount it still costs more than it did before. I don't know about Connecticut, but here in NY that's illegal.

Jason_V

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason
I'm no expert, but it would stand to reason that doing things like this is illegal period under some kind of consumer protection law.

CraigF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Craig
Wish we had laws like that in Canada. This happens all the time here, a "sale" shortly after a dramatic price increase, so you get the old pre-sale price essentially.

What has a company going OOB to lose by doing this?

Sears has been doing something similar regularly for years, finally got dinged recently. Advertising original prices that the goods never actually sold for, so they can pretend they're on sale. The fine was (I'm sure) far less than their profit... But they're "in business" so have some minor amount to lose. They're still doing it.

Mark Philp

Second Unit
Real Name
Mark