What's new

maximizing what I have (1 Viewer)

Real Name
Tom
I set up my 5.1 system a little over a year ago. I'm fairly new to home theater and think it sounds OK but I am wondering if I am maximizing what I have? I have a Yamaha RXV 367 receiver, Polk monitor 50's for my fronts, Polk cs10 center, a BIC v-1220 powered sub and Streem SR-490 for surrounds. I was thinking that my receiver is not powerful enough to get the most out of my speakers and wondered if there was an amp I could add to my current set up that would make a difference? Any other ideas you have would be greatly appreciated.
Tom

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
It's very unlikely that you need additional power for the Polks. While their 89 db efficiency isn't extremely high, it's not bad, and the Yamaha has about 80 wpc, which should be plenty. Are you in a very large room? Do you usually have the volume at or near the maximum?
If neither of those is yes, then have you calibrated the receiver? If not, it looks like that model doesn't have an auto-calibration feature. So you should set the size and crossovers, and then get a calibration CD/DVD and an SPL meter and adjust the volume levels.

Real Name
Tom
Thanks for the feedback, and no I don't have my stereo near max as I'm not looking to make it louder. I thought more power might enhance the sound coming out of the speakers. I see a lot of forums where people weren't pushing enough power to their speakers and they just weren't getting the true sound out of them, not necessarily loudness. My receiver does have a calibration option but I'm not sure I have my speaker size settings at the best levels, any feedback on how they should be set? The room size I have this set up is about 12'x18'.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Yamaha only has one crossover. Monitor 50 aren't exactly "big" anyway. You probably chose 80hz as your crossover(as that is where bass becomes non-directional).
It doesn't have YPAO.