Max Payne

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Van Patton, Jul 25, 2001.

  1. Van Patton

    Van Patton Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anybody picked this up yet??? I'd like to know if its worth my $40.00. The demo in 3DMark2001 is amazing but I dont know if I want to play a whole game of Matrix style effects.
     
  2. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've only been able to play the tutorial because the game keeps crashing at the same point (Windows 2000). It looks good, there's lots of blood, lots of detail and the "bullet time" feature is pretty cool...I just can't wait for a patch or a solution to my problem. [​IMG]
    ------------------
    My DVD Collection
     
  3. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What are your system specs??
     
  4. Corey Hancock

    Corey Hancock Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1998
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think it's great as well. But I cannot adjust the brightness in the game. So it is way too dark and at times extremely difficult to play. Hopefully they release a fix to this soon.
    Corey
     
  5. BrianB

    BrianB Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,205
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Corey, are you using a ATI graphics card? The brightness controls on those cards' drivers are known to be a pain. I believe ATI have put up some new drivers that claim to fix the problem.
    ------------------
    Nothing In Particular
     
  6. Corey Hancock

    Corey Hancock Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1998
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, I've got the ATI Radeon 64 meg card. And that's the problem. On the Max Payne web site it says to adjust the gamma on the display properties in windows. However if you do that, it makes Windows brighter, but the game stays the same. I have the newest offical driver, I did not get the beta one. Is the beta driver the one that has the fix?
    Corey
     
  7. BrianB

    BrianB Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,205
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Arthur,
    Are you using the following combo for your PC:

    GeFORCE 3 + Win2k + Athlon CPU = Crash to desktop.

    If so Remedy is working on finding a fix for the problem, they think its a driver issue, so make sure that all your drivers are up to date. BTW I run the game on a:

    GF2 + Win2k + Athlon 800Mhz CPU = low frames in fire fights......guess I need to upgrade to that 1.4Ghz Athlon and GeFORCE 3 once the problem is fixed [​IMG]
     
  9. Ike

    Ike Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been waiting for this game for...God, two years, probably. Just something so appealing about wielding two pistols, and being able to reenact situations from John Woo movies and The Matrix. Now, it's on order from Amazon (I promised myself I wouldn't order it until I got a positive review from Gamespot, fear of the Dakitania effect, I guess, but I couldn't wait). I hope it gets here quick. (I'm even upgrading a computer so I can play it on it.)
    Anybody that has it, please post your thoughts on it.
    [Edited last by Ike on July 26, 2001 at 02:23 PM]
     
  10. Romier S

    Romier S Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 1999
    Messages:
    3,526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got it today, have only played through the first couple of chapters but am loving every minute thus far!! Kick ass game! I have just about every graphic option set to high and and am running the game at 1024X768X32bit color and the game runs butter smooth. Here are my system spec for reference...
    P3 700
    256MB of ram
    Geforce 2 GTS 32mb graphics card
    Soundblaster Live MP3 5.1 sound card
    The game play is very smooth. The controls are spot on and doing the bullet time effects are really easy. The graphic novel sequences are very well done and keep you engrossed in the game. Graphically.....well you'll just have to see it...GO BUY THIS GAME!!
    [​IMG]
    PS To the people having trouble with WIN2k. Remedy is working on a 6.2 meg patch that will alleviate all your problems as we speak. The patch should be available from what I have read tommorrow.
    [Edited last by Romier S on July 26, 2001 at 09:53 PM]
     
  11. Greg Black

    Greg Black Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2000
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    110
    After watching the trailer for Max Payne, I really am wanting to buy it. Unfortunately I think I'm going to have to upgrade my PC to play it [​IMG]
    P3-500
    128 ram
    Voodoo 3 3000
    Hmm... I don't know. It would probably be pushing it to even run in 800x600. I hate having to upgrade to play a single game!
    ------------------
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cudos to Remedy for their quick work on the patch. I just downloaded it and now I have to pry away the MP CD from my dad so I can run it with my machine so I can witness the power of my GeForce 3.
    ------------------
    My DVD Collection
     
  13. Corey Hancock

    Corey Hancock Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1998
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Greg,
    You'd be surprised what a little bit of ram and a new video card would do for your computer. I've got the first gen P3 500mhz, 320 megs of ram, and a ATI Radeon 64 meg card. I am running Max Payne at 1024x768 in 32bit color and it runs flawlessly. You can get ram dirt cheap now, and the graphics card I bought was about 189.
    Corey
     
  14. Kenneth English

    Kenneth English Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 1999
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got the game yesterday and I just want to say that anyone who is riding the fence on this one should hop down RIGHT NOW and run, don't walk, to your nearest retailer and BUY, BUY, BUY IT!!!!!!!
    MAX PAYNE is, without a doubt, the most fun and involving shooter I've played since HALF-LIFE appeared many moons ago. It's that damn good! Unbelievable stuff.
    System specs:
    Pentium III 750 Mhz
    256 Mb RAM
    Creative Annihilator GeForce 2 video card (32 Mb)
    Creative Soundblaster Live Platinum sound card
    It runs like greased lightning on my system at 1024x768 with all the graphics stuff cranked to the max.
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [Edited last by Kenneth English on July 28, 2001 at 02:00 PM]
     
  15. Greg Black

    Greg Black Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2000
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Thanks for giving my old system some hope Corey [​IMG] I've been checking some prices out and I'm thinking about getting at least an extra 128 megs of RAM, and possibly a GeForce 2 Pro card (even though I hate Nvidia!). I didn't realize RAM was so cheap now! Last time I checked, 256 mb cost about $80. Now it's around $40! I also might get an 850 mhz P3 (slot 1) if I can find one cheap enough. It's the fastest proc my Asus P3B-F can handle.
    I'm really glad that most people seem to be able to run MP at high detail and 1024 with moderate PC's. I have no idea why the developers and much of the gaming press said that you would need a black belt system to even approach 1024x768 with a decent framerate.
     
  16. Corey Hancock

    Corey Hancock Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1998
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think personally the specs they put out on the game are a little over the top. But, to get Max to run perfectly I either have to have all programs closed, and I usually have to reboot before I play, if the computer has been on all day. Apparently there is a problem with Win Me not freeing up system RAM. I dunno, but I have no problems running the game and it is awesome.
    Corey
     
  17. Van Patton

    Van Patton Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just bought this today and I'm speechless. This has to be the best PC game I've played in a LONG time. I usually stick to consoles but this is insane. Basically anything you can think of you can do in this game. On like the 2nd level I dove through the air head first down a row of stairs and while in the air with a Beretta in each hand was pumping lead into the mobster. This is so much fun. GET IT NOW DONT HESITATE [​IMG]
     
  18. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damn! I was going to wait for a few "professional" reviews but you guys are talking me into it!! I'll go to Best Buy tomorrow! Something needs to tear me away from Tribes2!
    Anyone know if the newly released patch totally fixed the Win2000 with Geforce 3 problem (game not loading after 1st mission)?
    I'd hate to not be able to play past the first level with my newly assembled ass kickin' PC.
    Thanks,
    -Camp
     
  19. Alex Spindler

    Alex Spindler Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2000
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Count me in the pro-Payne camp (couldn't believe there is an anti-Payne camp). This game is unbelievable. The level of detail is incredible, and the style is unique pulp crime (my favorite!). The bullet-time sequences are necessary given how deadly your enemies are, so it never feels gimmicky. Really unique experiences from this game.
    ------------------
    Bombardment Society - Member
     
  20. Greg_Y

    Greg_Y Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 1999
    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For anyone else hesitating because of requirements, let me say I'm running the following:
    PIII 500
    256 RAM
    32 MB NVidia RIVA TNT2 Video Card
    Win2K Pro
    Not a suped-up system by today's standards, for sure. And I'm running Max Payne just fine at 800X600X32bit and it's smooth. No frame skips or anything. I haven't tried upping the resolution yet.
    The only problem I'm having is with the sound. After a while, it just quits on me. Only the first 'part' of any sound will play and if I go back to Windows, the same thing happens with regular Windows sounds. If I reboot, it goes away. I don't know if it's the game, DirectX, Windows, my machine or what. But I have seen it before in other games, just not as often as with this game.
    ------------------
    DVDs | CDs
    "While the police are at it, they should find out where my intern is. I asked for those copies 20 minutes ago!"
     

Share This Page