Masters in HDTV help!!!!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by AaronArmstrong, Apr 5, 2001.

  1. AaronArmstrong

    AaronArmstrong Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having an unusual problem.
    I watched the championship game in HDTV monday night
    no problem. I get home today and turn on to watch the
    masters in HDTV and nothing. I am not even getting a
    signal strength showing on my RCA 100 although the other
    2 digital channels in my area are showing up. But not the
    CBS signal. I called to make sure they weren't having problems on their end and they say everything is fine.
    I just don't understand not having any signal strength.
    i wouldn't even be upset if I saw a 10-20 strength but
    nothing??? Any suggestions would be helpful. the only
    thing different is that after the championship game is that
    I turned off the the RCA 100 and the converter to my Toshiba off for the first time since I got it (pre SuperBowl). Would something reset itself that would mess me up. I looked at all the settings and they seem fine. Any suggestions would be helpful
    Thanks,
    Aaron Armstrong
     
  2. Richard Driskill

    Richard Driskill Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aaron,
    OK Aaron, you asked for ANY suggestions. With the limited information at hand.....
    Is your electricity clean? (install a surge surpressor if you don't have one) Does the box have a 3 prong plug? If so, is the ground at the outlet connected? (check it with a $5 device from Home Depot or Radio Shack)
    Unplug (not just turn off) your box for 5 minutes. Sometimes these devices get razed with the slightest bit of fray on the electrical line.
    Are any of the components hot? Have you got them stacked one on top of the other?
    Was the CBS siganl marginal to begin with? Check your antenna position.
    Is the CBS frequency far from the other digital frequencies you ARE getting? Is the CBS frequency at the high end of the scale?
    Are you sure the CBS channel your trying to view is the digital one and not the analog one?
    Give us more information if you can't solve it.
     
  3. Frank

    Frank Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 1997
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this problem with my RCA DTC100 about a year ago. A channel that I knew was broadcasting didn't show up at all. I had to turn off then channel mapping feature and select the station manually. Perhaps that is your problem.
     
  4. AaronArmstrong

    AaronArmstrong Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Frank,
    One question though.
    How do you turn off that feature, I can't
    seem to be able to find my manual. [​IMG]
    Thanks,
    Aaron Armstrong
     
  5. Frank

    Frank Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 1997
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe you have to select Assistance from the menu and then Off Air Guides and then turn it off.
    Then try tuning the station directly and see if it shows up.
    Good luck, Aaron.
    Frank
     

Share This Page