Master & Commander DTS

Discussion in 'DVD' started by Mort Corey, May 26, 2004.

  1. Mort Corey

    Mort Corey Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    0
    Recently bought and viewed this DVD which had the REALLY small DTS symbol on the package. I'm using a Denon 2900 player and 3805 receiver and have the default mode set to "auto" on the receiver so it picks the format that the DVD player outputs. On this one disk, the receiver is getting DD vs DTS. When I manually set the receiver to DTS I got no sound. The DVD player shows DD as well and there didn't seem to be any menu choices on the DVD to select sound format.

    Did I miss something? Enjoyed the movie and the surround sound was awesome but I haven't run across this before.

    Thanks

    Mort
     
  2. Justin Bauer

    Justin Bauer Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not familar with your equipment. Have you returned the disc and tried another? Maybe try another movie in DTS to see if it is the disc or your equipment.

    There is an equipment section here that would be able to help you out.

    Its too bad. That movies DTS track is the best I have ever heard.
     
  3. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2

    Look under "Language Selection". Once you manually select the DTS track on that menu, I'll bet the problem clears up.

    M.
     
  4. JeremySt

    JeremySt Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    14
    Real Name:
    Jeremy
    make sure your DVD players Digital output is turned on, and not set to downconvert the bitstream to PCM.
     
  5. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    "The DVD player shows DD as well and there didn't seem to be any menu choices on the DVD to select sound format."

    Mort,
    From the main menu screen select "Languages". This will take you to the audio setup screen where you'll find the disc defaults to the second choice, Dolby Digital 5.1 English. Press the up arrow on your remote once to highlight DTS and press enter.

    Unfortunately menus aren't standardized so you'll often find audio format selection under "setup", "audio", "languages", etc.

    It's also common to have to hunt for commentary tracks as the studios can't seem to be able to decide if they should be in "languages", "setup", or "special features".

    One thing to remember is that if a disc has DTS it will always default to something else, never DTS as a DTS bitstream can cause damage to speakers if someone tries to play it with a non-dts capable decoder.
     
  6. Mort Corey

    Mort Corey Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aha....gracias. I saw the "language" menu choice and assumed it was for....well, languages. I did look under the other menus but must have just bypassed that one. It was pretty impressive in DD so I can't wait to try it in DTS (which has become my favorite)

    Thanks again

    Mort
     
  7. JustinCleveland

    JustinCleveland Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Real Name:
    Justin Cleveland
    Mort, the dts track is stellar. Hope you don't have any pets to scare when the cannons go off!
     

Share This Page