What's new

Mass media storage options (1 Viewer)

chalkie23

Auditioning
Real Name
Michael
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting, so hopefully i go ok.

Over the past few years i have brought a number of Lacie LaCinema 2TB media players, some of which are still going good and some that aren't.

What i would like to do is upgrade my media players to one large multi room source. Instead of having 2 x 2Tb players in the kids rooms and 2 x 2 Tb in our living room i want to go 1 mass storage with i guess ethernet connections or some other way to the TV / Amps.
Ive been looking at the Lacie 5big NAS Pro Is this something i can look at or should i be looking at something different.

Im looking for a storage solution that can be access in multiple rooms on multiple tv's/amps for music, movies, pics etc.

If anyone has any ideas that would be great. Probably looking for something with about 10-20 TB storage. Details of equipment required for what I'm trying to do would be great too.

Thanks

kalm_traveler

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Jake
I'm going to purchase a 4 drive external raid enclosure which can connect to usb3 or esata and connect it to my router. This way all network connected devices can access stored media.

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
A NAS will help. You'll still need a media streamer at each location unless you plan to use DLNA. (And DLNA has a lot of limitation, trust me as I'm using it now.)

I have a QNAP 420, which is basic. But I wish I had gone with the 469L as it has an HDMI port and runs XMBC, so at least at one location you have a direct feed to your TV. (I didn't because at the time I didn't have the money to splurge.)

http://www.amazon.com/QNAP-TS-469L-4-Bay-SATA-3Gbps/dp/B008TTX4XO/ref=sr_1_4?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1414770826&sr=1-4&keywords=nas

Raul Marquez

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Raul H. Marquez, MD