Marantz Receiver

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by DarrylR, Dec 26, 2002.

1. DarrylR

DarrylR Auditioning

Im a newbie so I went to a HT installer to get recommendations on room setup and equipment. The installer only recommends what they sell so I realize they are a bit biased.

I'd appreciate any comments on their receiver recommendation. I've listed the speakers since it's probably relevant from a matching standpoint.

Marantz SR 7300 (105 x6W AC-3 6.1EX) receiver
    JAMO E800 series speakers and subwoofer
    The receiver runs about $900 and a 6 speakers about $2300.
    Can I get more for less?

I will be using this in a dedicated home theater in my basement.
    Any thoughts?

Thank you

2. PeterCB

PeterCB Agent

Darryl, I just picked up a Marantz SR7300 a few weeks ago after several months of research, and am very happy with it so far. I was also considering the Denon 3803 and the HK 525. I chose the Marantz primarily based on performance with music (IMO a "warmer" sound than the Denon) and perceived build quality (HK runs very hot, even at low volume, has a plastic front panel, uses budget heat sinks). The others may have more features than the 7300, but none that were critical to me.

I use Defintive Technology speakers (BP2006TL fronts, 2300 C/L/R center, and BP2X surrounds), which I am also very happy with. They are in your price range, and I think worth your while to audition.

By the way, you should not have to pay more than $800 for the Marantz from an authorized dealer.

Good Luck!

3. DarrylR

DarrylR Auditioning

Thanks Peter,

I will definitely check out the Definitive Technology speakers. Do you have a seperate subwoofer or are they built into all Def.Tech speakers. I have auditioned Definitive Tech speakers before but they were on the very high end and had a built in sub. They blew me away. Very nice.