Marantz query, please help!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Fred Rainford, May 27, 2003.

  1. Fred Rainford

    Fred Rainford Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know how to access the on-screen-display on a Marantz sr6200 without using the remote.
    I am currently awaiting a replacement remote, but would like to alter my speaker set up on the amp.
    On page 17 the instruction manual says -

    'The on-screen display, which can be activated by the Main unit or remote, appears on ....etc'

    I have been through the manual several times and cannot find any other reference to activating the osd from the main unit.
    Am I going mad?
    Can I just not see the part that tells me how to do this?
    Or are Marantz just messing with my head?

    I keep ending up at page 17 saying to myself that it must be possible.
    I realise that this might seem a minor issue, but it's got right under my skin Please help!

    Thanks, Fred
     
  2. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    There is no way I know of to activate or use the OSD without the remote. I think this is an error in the manual.
     
  3. Fred Rainford

    Fred Rainford Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that, John, I can let it go then.

    Do you have any tips regarding sr6200 operation with a phillips pronto, I've just found out that a new remote for it from Marantz is £145, for that I could afford the pronto if it would be worthwhile.
     
  4. Guy Usher

    Guy Usher Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use the smaller Marantz remote, it has enough in it to operate your receiver, the RC 1000 I think, lots cheaper than the 2000. . . Wont do it all but it will do enough. . .
     
  5. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    I would definitely look for a different remote. Look on www.Audiogon.com for the Marantz RC2000MkII. I picked one up for $129 brand new. It doesn't quite have everything built in either, but it has plenty of flexibility.

    The other choice mentioned is the RC1200, the remote that comes with the 7200, which is also not a bad remote. I didn't like it as much as the RC2000, though it is smaller and nicer looking. The 1200 does have all the codes and buttons to operate the 6200, some of which (6.1 functions, CS5.1, etc...) the RC2000 does not, so without the remote that came with the receiver you might have to go to a store to program the codes off one of their remotes and that's kind of a hassle. I paid less for my new RC2000 than the 1200 though...

    The new Pronto TSU3000 looks cool to me - enough hard buttons to make me happy. I am not a big fan of touchscreen remotes (they get dirty easy, batteries, etc...), but I like this one. You may have the same problem with a Pronto, though you should be able to get the codes for Marantz items for most Prontos because the remotes that come with the 8200 and 9200 are basically Prontos.

    Try www.remotecentral.com for some other options.
     

Share This Page