Marantz 5200: Who has it, likes it, and why?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Paul Clarke, Mar 6, 2002.

  1. Paul Clarke

    Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thinking of pulling the trigger on this one for the bedroom setup. Just like some input, good or bad. TIA.
     
  2. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    I have a 6200 (basically identical with more power) in my main system, and I am very happy with it. I can't imagine needing more power for my Mini Monitors. Best for 2ch music, IMO, but does a very good job for HT also. I also picked up an demo unit SR4000 for $150, for my bedroom (90% music), and it also sounds great.

    Only complaint about the models lower than 7200 would be the remotes. They are crap.

    I actually think the previous generation might have a little better amps or circuitry because they sound slightly better to me. I found a few refurb or used SR5000s for ~$300, and I may pick one up to replace the 4000, and use the 4000 to power the (soon) 20-39.
     
  3. Paul Clarke

    Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello John,

    I did a search on HTF and came up with some of your original posts and contributions on the Marantz models.

    Question: You state in a recent post that you have had video switching problems. What exactly did you encounter?

    I run my S-Video through the receiver now for convenience but I don't have to. I could make a direct connection instead or buy a video switcher/selector like the SVS-4.
     
  4. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    I don't use my receiver for video switching, and have actually not even tested it. What I have heard from users who have had problems with the switching on these units are white flashes or bars during intense sound passages. This did not happen on all units shipped, AFAIK, and I believe Marantz claims the issue is solved for the next batch of x200 units hitting the shelves soon.

    There is another issue, and that is audio drop outs with some sources, via digital connections. This issue is not specific to Marantz, it is common to many of the big names, though Marantz seems to take a beating for it on this forum.
     
  5. Paul Clarke

    Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello again,

    Sorry I missed your last post. I could have tacked this question onto my previous one. What about Bass management? Any problems? I know nothing is in the manual but from the user experience, I assume your using speaker level control? I like to use line level but could do the other.

    Also, do you use the source direct feature? The speaker configuration changes seem odd, especially with no User adjustable Bass management.

    Thanks a bunch.
     
  6. norman_maclean

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Paul

    Fisrt off I have a 5200 and LOVE IT. I couldn't be more pleased with the sound. The 6.1 surround is unbelievable. As for the Video switching I did/do have some problems. Here is what I have experienced. My first reciever had very noticable magnetic type looking waves when using the S. I took it back and got a new one...same model #, but they switched where they assemble them. My first one was from the first batch. I don't remember which countries they were made in, but I know it switched, and the later models are made somewhere different than the first, so check to make sure you get a later serial # so it is one of the newer batches. Even on my new one, I have the same waves, but much, much less noticable if I use the Moniter S-out. If I use the DSS-S out or VCR-S out the switching is fine. This is what I do. It does cause a problem if you want to use all the S-ins, b/c if you have a VCR-S in used and are using the VCR-S out it will not output the video from VCR in if the signal is coming in from the VCR-in etc. Does that make sense? Whereas if the Moniter out worked it would be able to output video from all the in-s. It also only does the on screen display when using the Moniter out.
     
  7. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
     
  8. Paul Clarke

    Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the posts guys.

    John,

    Yes, I meant to write X-over Selection. Obviously the receiver has Bass management. (Memo to myself---DOH!) It's just that the selectable crossover is something that I'm used to having.

    Norm,

    That's a shame about the S-Vid. I have only one S-vid on my set so it's a big deal. I could live with a single source problem but not the monitor out. I have enough trouble with video quality around here as it is. *#%#[email protected] Comcast!

    I think I'll shift gears and do so more brainstorming. Someone here on HTF has an Onkyo 575X for sale at a decent price. I know I'll lose OSD but it is a very nice receiver with a great remote. I'm considering it.

    Thanks again.
     
  9. norman_maclean

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Paul

    I'm not sure if you were switching gears b/c of the video switching or not, but if you were I wanted to make sure you knew that you could still use one of the other 2 S-video outs (VCR or DSS i think) and send that to whatever source you want. It outputs the video that is inputed to all the S-inputs excepts for the input that is the same as it is for output.

    I have xbox into VCR input, DVD into DVD, Tivo into TV and then VCR out to my TV and it works fine.

    If I want to use the on screen display I simply switch to the moniter out and set things up and then switch it back.
     
  10. Dennis B

    Dennis B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Paul,

    The Marantz sound is very addicting. Just make sure your dealer gives you a 30-day return option. I have a 7200, BTW, and although it's just my pre/pro right now, I love it. No problems at all. By the way, the video switching problem happens in s-video only. I do component video switching, without any trouble.
     
  11. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    5200 and 6200 do not have Component switching, only S-vid and composite.
     

Share This Page