Marantz 5200 vs Denon 1802- Please help <---> This close from a decision!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Sonny Sangemino, Feb 2, 2002.

1. Sonny Sangemino

I am currently checking out beginner level receivers and have come to an impasse. I was wondering what you think about the Marantz 5200 vs Denon 1802. They seem pretty evenly matched for options and input / outputs. The Marantz has 6.1 but it is an option I do not plan to use due to the size of my room. Any personal thoughts or testemonials out there. I am literally days from picking up one of these units so all input appreciated!

Sonny

Hitachi 53UDX10b

Panasonic RV-31

Energy Es - 8 Sub

Aiwa NSX-90 Surround System (hack puke ugh! ...Just fer Now!!!)

2. Jagan Seshadri

Jagan Seshadri Supporting Actor

My opinion/experience: Stay away from the Marantz SR-5200.

Low price, yes.

Well-designed/well-made, no.

I have no experience with the Denon model, as I got a Yamaha model instead (after the Marantz shorted out and the replacement exhibited problems, including a finnicky remote control). Do a search on this forum for x200 and you'll see where I am coming from.

Some others disagree with me though. Best of luck finding what you want!

-JNS

3. Ed_Y

Ed_Y Auditioning

I considered both these receivers before I made my purchase. I went with the Denon 1802 because of the good reviews on the internet & publications. I've had it for almost 3 months - it's been great. I didn't get the Marantz because of all the problems other users have posted about the current Marantz receivers.

4. Sonny Sangemino

Thanks for your comments. I was not aware of rampant Marantz problems...it seemed a little odd to receive so many features for so little $$$. As far as I can see no one has any really negative comments with the DENON stuff. So I am leaning back in this direction.

Sonny

5. ChrisAG

ChrisAG Supporting Actor

Jagan, others,