What's new

Manually Calibrating Speakers on a 5.1 System (1 Viewer)

aljr11

Auditioning
Real Name
Arthur Larkin
I'm using a Marantz SR-5013 AVR. I was wanting to know if when performing a manual calibration with a spl meter does it matter what surround sound format to use? In order to perform a manual calibration on the speakers what should be turned off and what should be left on? I try to reset everthing like my eq and tone control, treble and bass to 0. I have heard that you should turn off all compression. This is why I always set my avr to the pure setting to get the best possible sound in the end results. I may have this all together wrong. If someone could please shed some experience on this matter, I hope this isn't too confusing to understand the way I explained it. I'm very new at this. Thank you in advance for any help on this matter.

Last edited:

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
If you use the test tone I don't think any of that matters (surround mode, bass, treble, etc).
"Most people" (as in the few people I know) use the auto-calibration and then just tweak it. Is there a reason your going old-school for your calibration?

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Reviewer
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Are you using a calibration disc, or the internal tone generator? If it's the internal generator, surround modes are deactivated.

aljr11

Auditioning
Real Name
Arthur Larkin