What's new

Making The Grade (1 Viewer)

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
I pretty much enjoyed reading this article when I first came across it. I can remember only negotiating for one grade change years ago in college, a B+ to an A- simply for the reason of getting straight A's that semester. But I think the article has greater relevance in all areas of life today. What good is it constantly patting people or countries on the back when the results never seem to come. Anyways, thought I'd share it.

Christ Reynolds

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
CJ
i'd be embarassed to even think about asking for something like that. as a student who busted his ass to get a 4.0 the entire 2003-04 year, it sort of irritates me to see some of the students who slack off get a grade they didnt earn.

CJ

SethH

Senior HTF Member
Good article! As an undergrad I went to a professor one time to ask about possibly doing extra work to up my grade a little. It was the very last class I took as an undergrad. When grades came back I had an A-. I needed one point on my final grade to get an A. Getting an A would mean I would graduate Magna Cum Laude instead of Cum Laude. The professor refused and I got over it. I honestly didn't realize how common this practice is until I started my MBA. I work part-time for a professor at my university grading papers. There is a small segment of the class population who will arrive at the office after every single assignment is graded to argue any point they missed on the assignment (no matter how valuable the assignment is). It's is almost always the same people and the professor often gives them a few points back. This really bothers me. Occasionally they will make good points worthy of receiving more credit for the assignment, but usually they are just trying to get anything they can. I imagine these same people do this for every class and it really annoys me, because from my encounters I find them to be average students at best, but they tend to end up in the top