Making copies of DVD-R's

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by DanC, Jan 22, 2004.

1. DanC

DanC Stunt Coordinator

Forgive me if this is a simple question but I'm quite new to the world of DVD recording and had to ask. First off, I'm using a Panasonic DMR-E50 for all of my recording...which so far has been VHS -> DVD via composite inputs.

My question is this. If I wanted to make another backup copy of any dvd-r that I created, would I loose anything in terms of picture quality? I did some research on my own and couldn't really find the definitive answer. If there is a loss, is it enough to even notice? I don't own a DVD burner for the PC yet (ROM only) so this would be my only way to make any copies.

Any help at all would be great...thanks in advance!

[​IMG]

2. Michael Reuben

Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

If you can make a bit-for-bit copy, there should be no loss in quality. But I don't believe the E50 can do that.

M.

3. Scott Dautel

Scott Dautel Second Unit

Since the DMR-E50 (or -E60) does NOT have the internal hard drive, you can't do a perfect digital copy. However, you could connect a 2nd DVD player to the E50 via component or S-video and make a copy ... The problem is that you are converting the source digital-analog-digital. the copy will be good, but certainly not bit-for-bit.

Now, if you have a DVD burner on your PC (now can be easily had for < $100), and ample HD space, you could easily make as many EXACT DIGITAL copies as you want. (I'm assuming that your not duplicating copyrighted material)

Scott

4. DanC

DanC Stunt Coordinator

Scott, when you say digital-analog-digital...what exactly are you referring to? I'm guessing you mean the source (dvd-r) is digital and then it's once again coverted to analog for transfer and then back to digital again for recording? Does that make sense?