Making a s-video cable?

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by Kendall Lakey, Feb 5, 2004.

  1. Kendall Lakey

    Kendall Lakey Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just wanted to get your opinion on what parts express recommended that I do. The run length is going to be about 40ft. They recommended using 2 RG-6 cables terminating into F-connectors. Then connect the cables into the back of a plate that converts it into S-video. They said this would work fine. What are yall opinions. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Chris Hovanic

    Chris Hovanic Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is what I have

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    you can click the link in my signature to see bigger pics of my cables.

    30' length of two RG-6 with a break-out cable at each end.

    I purchased mine at BD Cable looks like a 40' length would run 113.17 + shipping.

    I have heard that any old s-video cable would work for that distance. I decided to get better cable instead of wasting $20-$40 on a cable that might make the picture look like poo.

    My cable works great and the picture looks as good as having a 3' s-video cable in its place.

    Hope that helps
     
  3. TimForman

    TimForman Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds better than trying to solder to those tiny little connectors. What a pain!
     
  4. Jack*Mains

    Jack*Mains Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've done it.
    Using about 50' of CAT5 cable, you solder the ends, and either put shrink tubing around the place you soldered, or electrical tape. I used tape because there wan't enough room there to fit shrink tubing.

    Works great, and the picture remained perfect.
     
  5. Leo Kerr

    Leo Kerr Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    for the long-haul transfer cables, I, personally, would never use an F-connector. In fact, I would never, ever use an F- connector for anything if at all possible. Personal bias, I know, I know..

    BNCs are fairly easy to work with; I believe there are even some that don't require a crimper.

    But I'd use RCAs for a DIY S-cable before I used F- connectors.

    Leo Kerr
    [email protected]
     

Share This Page