What's new

Make $40,000 a year - What equipment to buy for vinyl setup? (1 Viewer)

bucktown

Auditioning
Real Name
Bucky
Hi to all,

I am very new at record collecting. But I want a good setup to make it worth it, especially for some of the 45rpm lp's I've picked up. Right now, I'm using the bare bones basics: an Audio Technica AT-LP60 (including cartridge and needle it came with) my girlfriend gave me for my birthday a year ago, two Polk TI-15 bookshelf speakers, and a Pioneer receiver (with no phono input) that I took from my brother's old basic 5.1 surround package, as well as using just standard speaker wire. When I listen to my vinyl records, I feel like it is definitely lacking, especially when compared to my 1993 Bang and Olufsen Beosystem 2500 cd player & speakers.

I'm willing to upgrade to better equipment. Just how much better and what brands or models? I make $40,000 a year, have no car payment or people to support, and pay $825 a month on rent. What is an appropriate or reasonable amount to spend on a good setup? Do I make enough to even afford a worthwhile system? Or do they simply cost too much and I should wait (hopefully) when I make more? I see such a range of options out there and so many different brands, it can be overwhelming. What are some worth getting? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
My opinion... Anything you can pay cash for. If you have to finance HT gear, you can't afford it. This opinion provided by a 40 something "old guy" who has already learned from previous mistakes. :) Although I have a decent collection, I'm not that big into vinyl so I can't make any specific recommendations. Stick around I'm sure you will get some good advice.

CB750

Screenwriter
Real Name
Bill