What's new

Maintaining balance with a creative career (1 Viewer)

Bob Movies

Stunt Coordinator
This topic might seem a bit meandering, but it’s something that I’ve been thinking about a lot over the past few months. I’ll give a bit of background on myself to begin.

I graduated from a film production program at University in April, so this is the first time in my life that I haven’t been “back to school”. In my final year of school I directed a 16mm short film that won several awards, and my ultimate goal is to write and direct feature films. Unfortunately, I haven’t reached the point where I’m being paid to do that. After graduation I took a job as technical coordinator at a well known Canadian film facility, because it’s related to what I want to do, and I need some way of paying my rent. It’s a decent job, however it sometimes feels like I’m taking myself away from my real goals. As I said, this is the first time I’ve ever worked “full time” and I’m a bit shocked as to how much of your life 40 hours a week really is. Maybe I’m naïve, but it feels like my productivity and energy for non-work projects has dropped since I got out of school.

I recently started writing my second feature-length screenplay, and I’m trying to find funding for a short film that I wrote. I’m trying to build up my portfolio of writing so I’ll be able to approach literary agents and hopefully get representation soon. Still, some part of me feels like I could be doing more.

Are there other members who work “creative” jobs where the work is sporadic? How did you cope at the beginning when it came to balancing your 9 to 5 job with what you actually wanted to be doing?

Thanks,

Bob

Eric_L

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Eric
I can't help much in the creative dept - but I can say that nearly any successful businessman (which you will be) started with making tremendous sacrafices. Hard work, long hours.