What's new

M-Audio? (1 Viewer)

John*K

Stunt Coordinator
I very much want to make an 8 track recording -- two of which would go to waste -- but I suffer through this Turtle Beach mono... can anyone make sound card (and Mic) recommendations? I've got this cheap Shure Mic hooked to a cheap 2m stand and OPPS, therre it goessss

John*K

Stunt Coordinator
remember that I'm not a pro, but someone who is interested in whoemn recording.s

gregstaten

Supporting Actor
It might be more than you want/need, but you should check out Mbox from Digidesign. As opposed to a sound card, Mbox is a USB box and software that is designed for mixing. The hardware box has high quality Mic inputs including a very high quality Focusrite Mic preamp. It supports both balanced and unbalanced inputs and outputs, does 24-bit audio, has a headphone amp, etc.

The software included is Digidesign ProTools LE and it will let you mix up to 32 tracks of audio including real-time audio effects. It works with both Windows and Mac out of the box.

You should find it for under $500 complete. Check it out.

-greg

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
Let's start at step one:
Are you looking to record to 8 tracks total, or 8 tracks at once? (your two posts above are terribly unclear on what you're trying to do). If you're trying to do 8 tracks at once, Greg's Mbox solution won't work for you (it does 2 inputs analog and 2 inputs digital-- although I don't know if you can even run all 4 at once).

This is will make a huge difference- as in terms of software- your track limitation will be only what your PC can hadle- where as in terms of hardware- this will be your large limiting factor in terms of multitrack recording of multiple inputs.