Lutron Spacer Remote Dimmers/ Two in one room

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by Carson E, Sep 17, 2001.

1. Carson E

Carson E Agent

Was wondering if possible to use (two) remote spacer dimmers in one room . If the dimmers are next to each other the remote would control both at once. Correct? What about rewiring one box to the opposite side wall? As of now one box for recess and one for sconce, side by side.
    Thanks for any suggestions.
    Carson

2. Carson E

Carson E Agent

As I have no experience (first time building) I would very much appreciate any suggestions on how to run two Lutron Spacer Remote Dimmers in one room, one for recess, one for sconce. As of now the boxes are wired side by side . This probably wont work...so again for any help I am grateful.
    Carson

3. Carson E

Carson E Agent

Oh Well...Thanks anyway.

4. Vance

Vance Auditioning

Carson,
    I used a Lutron Spacer in my last theater and it worked great. I guess that you could use 2 located close together and have an effect of both working different circuits.
    Since I installed mine, Lutron has come out with different versions of the Spacer product... You might want to check out their site for the Spacer System

5. GregH

GregH Agent

A Luton spacer really isn't the right solution for multiple scenes in one room. However, if you really felt hacking it you'd need something like a Pronto Pro set to the RF mode and then use the IR emitter base to run to each of the switches. However, the IR receiver is on the front of the unit so you'll have a little IR "chiclet" sitting on the switch.

6. Carson E

Carson E Agent

Thanks for the replies.
    After extensive reading of Lutron's pdf pages it seems that the remote sensors are not omni-directional.