What's new

Low cost turntable suggestions? (1 Viewer)

TonyNelson

Auditioning
Hi,
I'm upgrading my system, and I want a turntable that sounds better than the one I currently have (an awful Sony $100 thing).
I'm considering the Sumiko Pro-ject 1.2 and the Music Hall MMF2.1. Both are around $300. Is there any general consensus as to which is better for the money?
Also, I can't seem to find out for sure base on the websites for these products, but do both of the turntables require the belt to be manually moved to switch to 45 RPM? I don't have a problem with that, but the wife might! ;) If so, are there quality options that have a switch selectable speed control for around the same price?
Thanks
Tony

Saurav

Senior HTF Member
I would add the Rega P2 to that list, you should be able to find it used for under $300 easily. I got my P3 used for around $350, but I know that that's a really good deal.

I have no experience with the two tables you mentioned, so I cannot tell you which is better. I'm very happy with my P3, for what that's worth.

Switch selectable speed control.... no idea about that either.

Oh, I can recommend the Pro-ject, though I dumped the Ortofon cartridge (an OM30, I think) for, ironically, a Sumiko Blue Point. If "Ifs and Ands were Pots and Pans" though, I love to have my old Gyrodek back.

HankM

Second Unit
Music Hall also makes some great tables. The MMF-5 at $499 with arm and Goldring cartridge is a steal and the lower price MMF-2 at $299 with arm and Goldring cartridge is also a good deal. Both are highly recommended in Stereophile and The Absoulute Sound.

mike_decock

Supporting Actor
I have been using the Music Hall MMF 2.1 for over a year (not for much longer, my VPI Scout just got shipped to me). I think it's a great 'table for the money but the cartridge isn't the greatest tracker.

I broke down and mounted a Shure V15VxMR on the 2.1. I know, a $300 cartridge on a $300 table is kinda silly but it sounds great.