Lots of Hard Drive access when doing nothing in WinXP

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by AndyVX, Dec 21, 2001.

  1. AndyVX

    AndyVX Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey all,

    I've lucked out yesterday as my old Dell computer wasn't functioning properly and they sent me a replacement computer. What is lucky about this, is that my old computer was a P3 500MHz and this new one is a P4 1.6GHz.

    Anyways, I have a few questions. First, there is a lot of hard drive activity going on, even while just sitting here typing this, or reading a webpage. I don't see what is going on that the OS would need to access the hard drive constantly. Well, it seems to happen more while I'm typing then just letting it sit though.

    Just so you know, this computer is running off of Windows XP.

    Second, why does this computer use PC133-SDRAM? I thought P4's only used RDRAM? And some other boards with chips from VIA and the like were capable of using DDR-SDRAM. I'm sure that not using RD or DDR is certainly hindering the performance of the computer. To add to this, there aren't any Rambus Ram slots on the motherboard either, so I'm stuck using PC133.

    All in all though, I can't complain in the slightest, as this computer was totally free..along with the matching black monitor, speakers, keyboard, and mouse. I'm using my optical mouse instead though.

    Thanks.

    P.s Do you think I would be better off killing this install of WinXP and putting Win2K on the machine?
     
  2. Shayne Lebrun

    Shayne Lebrun Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 1999
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    YOU might be doing nothing, but XP is doing alot of things. Pretty much any modern OS has all sorts of stuff running in the background.

    As for the RAM, a lot of people decided they didn't like RAMBUS, so Intel hacked their chips to run SDRAM, which is 1/4th the speed of RDRAM.
     
  3. Todd Hochard

    Todd Hochard Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 1999
    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have a lot of disc access with my setup (PIII-667, 512MB, WinXP), so I don't think it's the OS. Try Ctrl-Alt-Del to bring up the task manager, and see what's running for applications and processes. If you find some "fluff," get rid of it.

    Todd
     
  4. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  5. AndyVX

    AndyVX Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh man, do I feel like an idiot right now. After paying attention more closely, I realized that it wasn't the hard drive that was being accessed...the noise I was hearing was the noise from one of the fans inside the case.

    Sheesh, I guess I should have realized that if the HDD light wasn't being lit, the hard drive wasn't being accessed.

    Oh well. At least that problem is solved. I'm still kind of peeved off about the PC133 SD-Ram...though I guess I'll just have to deal with it.
     
  6. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,514
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    P4s now have boards that support RDRAM, SDRAM and just relased this month: DDRAM.

    That's why I prefer to build my own PCs - you know what you're putting into it. Dell and others sometimes rely on people missing the small print (or assuming as you did that P4s all used RDRAM) to use lower quality parts. They probably used a 423 pin P4 instead of a 478 pin version in there.
     
  7. AndyVX

    AndyVX Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't miss any small print. This computer was free from Dell as a replacement to my P3 500. If I were to have actually bought the thing, and I saw that it only used SDRam, I would have moved up to a higher model.
     
  8. Jeff Williams

    Jeff Williams Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2000
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How did you pull off getting a free computer from Dell?

    Jeff
     
  9. AndyVX

    AndyVX Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, we were having a ton of problems with the old computer. After getting a replacement hard drive, ram, videocard it was decided that it was the motherboard that was the problem. So, I new motherboard was going to be sent to us.

    Now, 7 and 1/2 weeks later and around 50 angry calls(and an email to the President) to Dell the motherboard finally showed up. Old computer is now working fine.

    Then, 4 days after the motherboard showed up, Purolator showed up and my doorstep with 3 boxes from Dell. Within these boxes was a Dell Dimension 4300, a new monitor, and speakers.

    My parents and I were totally dumbfounded as we weren't expecting this at all, especially since the new motherboard had just arrived a few days prior.

    My guess is that the email we sent to the president had something to do with it(this is just a guess though).

    I love the new black colour of equipment that Dell is now using...such a sleeker look to everything.

    So, that's how we ended up with a brand new computer from Dell. I guess luck was on our side after having waiting so long for replacement parts.
     
  10. Jeff Williams

    Jeff Williams Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2000
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, Dell really came through for you. I guess they really do have the best customer service in the business. Sounds like you went through about of hassle to get to where you are now, so I guess you've rightfully earned it. Good luck with the old computer, but it sounds like that’s fixed now too.

    Jeff
     
  11. AndyVX

    AndyVX Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea, the old computer is fixed, but we have to send it back to Dell(shipping already payed for) otherwise we will be charged for the new computer. [​IMG]
    Oh well... at least we got a new computer out of it.
     

Share This Page