lost hard disk space

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tim_Y_F, Feb 9, 2002.

  1. Tim_Y_F

    Tim_Y_F Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a blank 80G 7200rpm western digital 800BB Hard drive and a 4.3G IBM 5400rpm hard drive with windows 98.

    Strange things happen....

    Using the IBM drive as the boot drive I satrted to partition the WD drive assigned as letter D.

    Fdisk claims the drive is only 10G's. Anyway, I partitioned it as one primary partition, skipped formatting and restarted the computer and fired up windows 98. Surely enough, the D: drive as there and windows said the drives cpapacity was 76.3GB when I clicked on the 'format' tab. It was a releif that it wasn't 10G but where was the missing 4 GB???
     
  2. Scott Falkler

    Scott Falkler Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The missing space was used in the formatting process, or the drive space is calculated differently by the manufacturer 1000B=1KB instead of 1024B=1KB.

    That's the way it is, there's no way to change it or regain it...
     
  3. Colin Dunn

    Colin Dunn Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1998
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Real Name:
    Colin Dunn
    All the hard drive manufacturers consider a "gigabyte" to be 1 billion bytes, not 1,073,741,824 bytes (the correct number of bytes in a TRUE gigabyte). This allows them to overstate the real capacity of their drives by 7%. Fortunately, RAM capacity is still sold in true megabytes/gigabytes.
     
  4. John Wilson

    John Wilson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 1999
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tim,

    I think I can explain part of what you saw as I ran into the same issue. The version of Fdisk that was loaded onto your boot disk can onle "see" 64GB max. If it sees anything larger, it defaults to a size that is roughly calculated as drive size-64GB or in yours and my case about 10GB. There is an article on MS's website about a new Fdisk.exe file that should be copied to the boot disk.

    If I'm off base here, someone please correct or elaborate.
     

Share This Page