losing weight: starting to lose hope

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Scott Thomas, Apr 8, 2002.

1. Scott Thomas

Scott Thomas Second Unit

For about the past 4-5 weeks I have been going to my school Gym and been working out for about 5-6 times a week.

I always do either upper or lower weightlifting followed by 20-35 minutes of cardio.

According to the scales I have been losing weight (about 5-7 pounds) but whenever I look in the mirror I still look the same and I still feel the same

Anyway, I still eat what I normally eat but I try to eat less of it. I've also been drinking more water and veggies.

how long should it take before I REALLY notice a change?

PS- I am weighing myself tommorow (Monday 4-8-02)

2. Derrick Lee

Derrick Lee Extra

I'm no expert, but I think it'll take 2-3 more months before you'll really notice a change. Also, take into account the fact that you see and live with yourself everyday, and it's hard to notice the small losses (or improvements, if you will) you make because of that. If you meet a friend you haven't seen since you started working out, I'm sure they'd already be able to see a difference...so don't despair!

3. Jeffrey Noel

Jeffrey Noel Screenwriter

Scott, since you mentioned you are drinking "more" water, does that mean you still/do drink pop/soda? Cuz pop/soda is absolutely horrible for you when trying to lose weight. Well, so is beer! [​IMG]
    I would definitely agree with Derrick about not being able to see losses yourself. I have actually been working out and jogging daily for the past couple of months, and didn't really see too much of a difference. But everybody else did. Some of my friends actually thought I was sick. Amazing what exercise will do! [​IMG] [​IMG]

4. Jenna

Jenna Second Unit

Scott, it will USUALLY take approximately 6-8 wks of regular weight training/cardio before YOU notice a change in your physique -- depending on your initial weight/measurements. Others will notice first.