Looks like i'll have to build the sub myself!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Max Malloy, Aug 2, 2002.

1. Max Malloy

Max Malloy Stunt Coordinator

I just realised that an SVS 16-46PCi will cost me over $1200CDN after shipping and taxes. That's insane, i can't afford that. But if i were to get something cheaper, my bass wouldn't be as high quality as the rest of my system. So looks like i'm stuck building a sonotube if i want a quality subwoofer.

I have three gigantic hardware stores right near my house, and my dad is a supervisor at a construction company, so getting tools and materials shouldn't be a problem. I also have a basement that is undergoing some construction work, so i don't have to worry about turning everything upside-down and making a mess.

However, there are a few things i'm worried about. First, i've never done this before and have no idea how to build a sonotube subwoofer. I'm thinking something tall, black, and with an external amp. But i don't know where to get the schematics. Is there an "approved" schematic out there that i know will turn out a great piece of equipment?

Also, if this is my first subwoofer, will it be good? How will it look and how will it sound? Oh, and how long will it take me to build it? Some people say it takes months, others call it a weekend project. I like the latter a lot more, but is it true?

And finally, how much is everything going to cost me? I'm not sure what woofer i want to get, but i've heard good things about Shiva. Is it still the best? If not, what is, and how much does it cost? How much will i spend on materials and the amp?

2. Dustin B

Dustin B Producer

They are not hard to build. Check out Patrick Sun's website and mine. If you follow those cunstruction techniques and make sure everything is sealed well it will sound awesome.

As for appearance depends entirely on your patience, attention to detail and a little bit on how much you spend on the finish.