1. We suffered a brief outage this morning when our host noticed that HTF needed to be moved to a different server due to a hardware failure. That work is now complete. Please post in the feedback area if you have any issues.
    Dismiss Notice

Looking to paint speakers piano black gloss...

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Peter_W, Feb 8, 2005.

1. Peter_W

Peter_W Agent

I need tips on:

what paint to use
    steps and equipment needed.

2. Brian D H

Brian D H Second Unit

This isn't really an area that I'm an expert on. But as I understand it, a true piano black finish is more a matter of the process than the materials. I believe you start by painting black, sanding/buffing the finish with the finest grit possible, then applying layers of laquer (I assume that polyurethane would also work, but don't quote me on that). You sand/buff between each layer of laquer and apply at least three (preferably seven) coats of laquer.

I'd suggest doing a search on the process for complete instructions.

3. Brian Fellmeth

Brian Fellmeth Supporting Actor

It can be done. but it is really hard and a process that is very unforgiving of mishaps like a sputter from a spray can or a sag/run if you lose focus for an instant. It starts with surface prep, then 3-5 coats of high solid primer, sanding with higher grit after each, then 6-10 thin coats of black laquer (or alternating black and clear) working up to about 8000 grit paper wet sanding. Takes weeks and is expensive after all the sand paper and paint cans. If you really want that look, much easier alternatives are gloss black laminate from wilson or formica, or the parts express pre done boxes which are outstanding in black- very deep mirror like finish that is near impossible to match DIY.

4. Peter_W

Peter_W Agent

Questions about the laminate:

1) Does it peel off over time because of the vibrations?
    2) How do the seams look?
    3) Any tools needed to make it look right?

5. Conor

Conor Auditioning