Looking to optimize my new HT purchase

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Joey S, Sep 4, 2004.

1. Joey S

Joey S Auditioning

Hi folks home theater newbie here, so humor me a bit. :b I just treated myself to a bigtime upgrade. I purchased the following:

Sony KP51WS510 - 51" HDTV

Pioneer DV-578A-s - Progressive Scan DVD

Yamaha YHT-150 - 600 Watt 5.1-Ch. Home Theater System

Okay now the hookup questions. I'll be using Time Warner's HD cable box. Do I connect through DVI? or component?

What are the recommendations about the video cables for the DVD to TV hook up? How many wires will i need to buy? What specifically?

Audio wires from the receiver to the video sources: What do you recommened i get? Specifics would be appreciated.

My speakers wires: Do i upgrade the stock stuff? Is there really a big difference? Do I need banana plugs for the wiring or just put it in raw? Been looking at the following wire: The sound king 12 gauge 100' speaker wire at parts express and the dayton audio banana speaker plugs. Is that what I need or am i offbase?

The stock subwoofer cable: Should I upgrade this? If so what?

Any other advice or things i will need will be appreciated. My buddy works at best buy HT department where i bought the goods, so he will be doing the TV calibration for me. Just trying the get a head start and different opinions on the hookups.

I've been trying to read the forums for any info i could find, but i wanted to post to get specific info for my situation. I have 2 weeks till delivery, so i'm trying to be as prepared as possible.

Thank you immensely in advance. I hope I put this in the right forum.

2. Joey S

Joey S Auditioning

Can anyone help?

3. Garrett Lundy

Garrett Lundy Producer

Get yourself a DVD test disk (like the $17 Sound & Vision disk), a Radio-Shack SPL meter, and you may want an all-in-one remote control. Borrow a measuring tape when determining speaker distance. (you'll only need it that once).

4. Bob McElfresh