What's new

Looking for speaker suggestions for 18 x 11 room (1 Viewer)

CrayZT415

Auditioning
Real Name
Zach
Sort of new to the forum, though I have been reading a lot and I've posted once before when I was looking for a wireless home theater (told it was way out of my budget ... glad to get that out of the way early).

My budget has increased from 1K to 2K (which would be used for the receiver and all speakers) and after learning that HTiB is basically a sin (also found out on this forum), I'm now in the "piece the system together" phase of my home theater searching. I've also convinced my wife to ditch the wireless idea. I'm a definite noob with home theater stuff, so I'm hoping someone here can point me in the right direction when it comes to a speaker set that will suit a decent sized living room (18 x 11, where our seating position is about 15 feet from the TV).

Receiver
I've narrowed down my receiver choice to the Onkyo TX-NR626, though I only plan on going 5.1 to start (wife ain't digging 4 speakers in the rear of the room). Unless I hear otherwise, I'm fairly set on that part.

Speakers
I'm starting to realize that I need to buy my speakers separate from one another as the 6-piece systems I've come across seem to be tailor made for smaller rooms? Maybe I'm wrong. I keep hearing about the budget-friendly Energy 5.1 Take Classic Home Theater system but digging deeper it doesn't sound like it'll handle a bigger room for the high volume I prefer to listen to my entertainment at. And I can afford more if it requires it.