What's new

Looking for Entry Level Speakers and Receiver (1 Viewer)

shankze

Auditioning
Real Name
Shankze
I am new to the world of Home Theater systems. I am looking for entry level speakers and a receiver. As I am totally new to this, I need some help on choosing a good system. My budget is $650 (Speaker and Receiver combined).
I started with checking HTiB systems. I had a look at Denon, LG, Samsung and Sony Systems. Among these, I liked Denon DHT1513BA system which comes with Boston Acoustics speakers. The other option is to go for separate speakers and receiver. I have read very good reviews about Energy Take Classic 5.1 speakers. I am strongly considering Energy speakers. Here are my questions -
1) If I buy Energy Take 5.1 Classic, can you suggest me a good receiver to go with the speakers. I can spend around $250 on the receiver.
2) What features should I look for in a Receiver? I guess the minimum requirement is that it should be have 5 Channel
3) Who would you recommend - Denon DHT 1513BA or Enertgy Take Classic 5.1+ $250 receiver or any other combination?
Any input will be very helpful.

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim
DO NOT buy a HTIB system. You will regret it later. Those Energy speakers are very popular and highly rated, but it depends on the size of your room. Do you also need a subwoofer?
At Walmart.com you can buy the Pioneer 522 for $249. Also the Onkyo RC330 and RC430 are both less than $200. It just depends on what features you need(Number of HDMI inputs, 3D ready, etc).

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
Most HTiBs are to be avoided at all costs. But Onkyo, Denon, and Yamaha have nice "packages" (they're not really HTiBs, they use real receivers and bundle a set of speakers). Usually the weakest link of the bumdles is the speakers, so your option with the Boston Accoustics sounds like a contender.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam