What's new

Looking for decent center channel (1 Viewer)

Aaron_Morris

Stunt Coordinator
Hi all. I have been a lurker here for a few weeks and I think I am now ready to post. First, my setup... well it consists of a Kenwood "back in the day when CDs were a new concept" stereo reciever. Some cheap-o Aiwa towers and some aiwa bookshelf speakers. The setup works, and until now that is all I needed. I mostly was into car audio stuff and have begun systematically selling it off. And now I want to get into bigger and better things. I have heard a few decent HT setups and that is the direction that I would like to go. I am not rich by any means, and in fact I am quite... umm... broke. Until I get some of the amps from my car gone I don't have a lot of spending cash as I am a college student and don't have any major cash flow. Tutoring is not the lucrative field I had hoped. Anyway, back to the topic at hand.
I am thinking that a Marantz SR5200 is the best option for me. As far as price and options go. Now, I haven't gotten a chance to go demo it, but have read more than a few reviews and it seems to have the features and general praise that I am looking for.
I was curious as to where to find a modest center channel speaker to tide me over until I cna upgrade to a set of voice matched speakers (my understanding is that this is a good thing). Any help would be appriceated. And I am not against used stuff, so any help would be mucho appriceated. oh, and price range... lets say under $200.

Jeffrey Noel

Screenwriter
Aaron, first off, Welcome to the forum! :D