What's new

Looking for center channel to complete system (1 Viewer)

Heavy D

Auditioning
Real Name
Donnie Maynard
Hi everyone, new member here. I haven't had a chance to browse around too much, but I'm sure there is a ton of info here. :emoji_thumbsup: This is my first HT system, but I've put together a couple of car audio systems in the past so I kind of know my way around audio equipment.

Anyway, I'm looking for a center channel speaker to complete my basement home theater system. The system is nothing major since I'm just a college student on a tight budget. I aimed to put together a modest system that would get the job done for gaming, movies, and music. Here's my current setup:

Receiver: Pioneer VSX-815

Front speakers: Some homemade ones my Dad built when he was in high school. Don't laugh! They sound pretty darn good IMO. I have no idea what they consist of other than 10" woofers from a jukebox and some horns. I know they seem like a joke, but they really do sound pretty decent with fairly flat in-room response down to ~35-40Hz.

Rear speakers: Some older BIC bookshelves. Can't remember the model # off the top of my head.

Sub: DIY passive radiator setup with a Dayton 12" driver and 8" PR. 350W Rhythmik Audio amp.

I want a center channel speaker with a voice that will blend nicely with the rest of my "random" system. I'm not looking for something really expensive since I'm on a budget, just something that will get the job done and isn't crap. The system is used probably 60% for gaming and 20% alike for music and movies. Any suggestions?? Thanks!!

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John