What's new

Looking for advice on home theater front speakers (1 Viewer)

Rkmcdon

Auditioning
Real Name
Rodney
I have a home theater set up with a denon 3802 reciever and i'm looking to buy new front towers and center channel. My surround speakers are in wall Klipsch reference series, but i'm willing to have my front speakers not timbre matched to my surrounds if it allows me to get better fronts. I also have a 10" powered sub to pick up the low end. The system is almost exclusively for movies.

The 3 speakers HAVE TO BE less than $1500 total and preferably less than $1400.

I'm far from a speaker expert so i did some searching and discovered 2 sets of speakers that seem to fit the bill. Unfortunately, neither are speakers that I can audition and in fact, my local store options for auditioning speakers is limited to Best Buy or one "boutique" store with a very limited selection. The current candidates are:

Wharfedale Diamond Series (wildwestelectronics.com is the only place i could find to purchase these)
9.6 floor speaker
9.cm center channel
Total price $1080

or

Aperion Intimus 5 Series (can be found at aperionaudio.com)
5T tower
5C center channel
Total price $1340

(I had links to each speaker but unfortunately the site won't allow me to post links since i'm a new poster)

I'm mostly interested in getting the best sounding speakers. If you have any knowledge of or opinion on either sets, or if you have another set in this price range you think I should look at, your input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Rkmcdon

Auditioning
Real Name
Rodney
I thought i'd add, if i go with Klipsch I'd be looking at:

RF-82 Towers
RC-62 Center Channel
Total price of $1450

The only option I'd have to audition these would be a BB Magnolia store that is a little over an hour away, but i may try to make it up there this weekend.