Looking for a new remote...What's new now days?

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by Richard_T, Feb 15, 2005.

1. Richard_T

Richard_T Second Unit

I've been using my old Marantz 2000 MKII for a few years now and loved having it around. Except for it's weight I've found it to be reliable, sturdy as hell and it can learn just about anything I threw at it. But, after all this time, I think it's time to get something new and I'm wondering what's out there and what everyone else is using. I'm looking for something that has a good amount of memory, that's as easy to use as my old MK II and won't cost me an arm and a leg. What are you all using? Would you recommend it? Let's hear it.

2. Paul-D

Paul-D Stunt Coordinator

I just currently still use my JVC Receiver remote for everything, but be sure to check out remote central for more information on all types of remotes.
    Good luck

3. Kevin_Spradley

Kevin_Spradley Stunt Coordinator

I second remote central. They have very in-depth reviews of most all remotes.

4. Charlie Campisi

Charlie Campisi Screenwriter

Ditto remote central. I like the activity based Harmony remotes. Unless I am tinkering with the calibration on my system, all my other remotes stay in a drawer. My wife, 5 year old daughter and babysitter can all use the Harmony with a 2 second instruction session. No more telling them which remote to grab, what to do if they're watching tv or dvd, want the surround sound on or off etc. I especially recommend it for anyone who allows others to use their system.

5. Ted Lee

Ted Lee Lead Actor

did anyone mention remotecentral.com yet?

i have a mx-500, which is generally considered a pdgr (pretty darn good remote). do a search here and see how many times it's been recommended. an outstanding feature is the ability to label the buttons - this is a huge bonus.